NEWS RELEASE Date: May 11, 2011

Contact: Courtney Downing

Phone: 518-954-3258

Email: Courtneydow@libertyarc.org

Liberty Recognizes Tenured Board Members and Individuals

AMSTERDAM – At the May 5 annual meeting of Liberty, Montgomery County Chapter of NYSARC, a slate of officers was presented for the upcoming term and Board members who have served five and ten years were recognized.

Sally Romano was recognized for 10 years of service on the Liberty Board. Ken Adamowksi and Reverend Lisa VanderWal were too recognized for 5 years of service to the Board. Adamowski and VanderWal are tenured Board members and Board Officers. Also sworn in as Board officers for the 2011-2012 term were, Valerie Zabo, president; Ken Adamowski , vice-president; Lisa VanderWal, secretary; and Joel Kaplan, treasurer.

The meeting included election and swearing in of new and standing Board members. Nancy Collins, Michael Cinquanti and Charles Schwartz, Esq. joined the Liberty Board for their first two year term. Standing directors Michael Bucciferro, David Fariello, Joel Kaplan, Robert Purtell, Robert Quick, Sally Romano and Valerie Zabo were re-elected for another two year term.

Outgoing President, Letah Graff, was honored for her service as Liberty Board President and received a plaque commemorating her two years in office. In his presentation comments, CEO Frank Capone noted that as a past employee in Liberty's vocational program, Graff has seen firsthand what the programs mean to individuals, to their families and to the community.

Graff stated, "I have seen how Liberty is connected to the community and is trying harder than ever before to demonstrate its willingness and commitment to strengthening our community ties and partnerships. I am proud to be a part of such a resourceful organization that is always trying out new ideas and initiatives that can take us from very good... to excellent."

New this year was a special recognition of 14 individuals celebrating 35 years or more with Liberty. At 42 years, George Jagielski, Pamela Sherman, Christine Mazur and Douglas Small are the four longest tenured individuals. Laura Latvis, Valerie Lennenbecker, Penny Swart and Richard Wharton were all recognized for 40 years of involvement with Liberty. Edna Mae Loring was recognized for 39 years and Rob Pabis and Ted Woods have both been in program for 37 years. Acknowledged at 36 years were Manuel Castro and Ron Kazda and Robert Polin was commended for 35 years in program.

The dinner at Crystal Ristorante in Amsterdam included honoring the above noted long-standing board members and Individuals as well as presenting Palmer Pharmacy of Johnstown the 2011 Community Partner award and Dave Anderson and his Golden Retriever, Dakota, of Amsterdam the 2011 Good Neighbor award. Liberty also honored their very own Salsa Picante group with the first annual Community Commitment Award for the group's dedication to volunteerism and making their community a better place.

###

Caption: Valerie Zabo, newly elected President of the Liberty Board.